Friday Reads: A longish list

I am long overdue for one of these.

What I have read since my last post:

 The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Since a few people in my book club hadn’t read it yet (and by a few people I mostly mean me), we decided to revisit it. I loved it. It was hilarious, it made me think, and has redeeming messages about the way we access information today. I’m glad I revisited it later in live, because I could only get through about 30 pages when I was 11 before getting bored to tears.

 

Mercury by Hope Larson. My friend Viet recommended this to me when we were hanging out at the public library. It’s a graphic novel about a girl named Tara who inherits a locket that once belonged to her ancestor, Josey. In the novel, Larson intertwines the mysteries and complications of Tara and Josey’s lives until Tara makes a very important discovery about her family’s past. Go read it. It was great. And it has magical realism.

 Catching Fire [The Hunger Games #2] by Suzanne Collins. My friend Ryan’s reaction to the first installment of the series was a big ol’ “meh.” But when he heard me describe the second book to my cousin in the car one day, his ears perked up. Collins amped up the intensity in just about every aspect of this novel: violence, betrayal, rumors, uprisings, punishments. So if you weren’t sold after the first novel, give the second one a try.

After Dark by Haruki Murakami. This was my first library book on my Kindle. I became intrigued after I gathered from the description of this book that Murakami feels the way I do about the hours between midnight and 6AM: there is probably something weird going on. This is a short novel about such weirdness.

 

 

What I’m reading now:

  • Heartsick by Chelsea Cain
  • Mockingjay [The Hunger Games #3] by Suzanne Collins
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling (do I even need to give that much detail? Sometimes I wonder if I could just type “HP5”)
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • The Compassionate Diet by Arran Stephens and Eliot Jay Rosen
Links!
Author Name Pronunciation Guide with audio (you might be surprised)!
You’ve heard of Feminist Ryan Gosling, right?
If you love Maus, you’ll probably love this.
Leave a Reply

