Friday Reads: Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Books I finished recently:

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde (the very first book I read on my Kindle). I don’t know why this is part of the high school curriculum. I’m willing to bet that high schoolers don’t appreciate Wilde’s sense of humor. I certainly didn’t when they assigned this to me as a high school senior. But as a 24 year old nerd who is a little more aware of humanity and the weirdness of romantic relationships I totally LOL’d. I even have urges to tell people I’m Bunburying around Shropfordshire when they ask if I have plans. I think I will indulge next time.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. Do you ever feel like a book was written just for you? I loved this one. There were some aspects that threw me off: Sophie’s mindset about being destined for a boring life because she’s the eldest sibling; the whole Martha/Lettie switching places thing; the abrupt ending. There were aspects I loved: Sophie throwing herself into the role of a determined, assertive, strong old lady; any part with Calcifer; the flowers they grew to sell in their shop (front). And as soon as I learned Howl’s real name was Howell Jenkins and that he spoke a “foreign language” I KNEW I loved the book because all of that means Howl was a Welshie (which he admits later on in the story in a really awesome way). This was my YA choice for book club’s September meeting. Really glad it turned out well – I toned down my enthusiasm at our meeting, though.

Memorable links:

I have a massive headache and the hiccups (this cold won’t seem to budge) but I wanted to get this published before Friday actually ends. Would you mind terribly if I just left you with this?

HEY GURL

3 responses to “Friday Reads: Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

  1. Don’t mind at all. Keep getting better!

Leave a Reply

