Meatless Monday: Summer Vegetable Tian

I hope you all had good weekends. On Friday I hung out with my mom and (as usual) we went to Grammy’s house for dinner (shrimp louie salad – one of my favorites). On Saturday morning I went to Macy’s to find a shirt to wear under my suit for my interview that’s coming up this week. Luckily, I found something quickly. My idea of shopping is getting what I want and leaving, much to the chagrin of many of my female friends and relatives. Later on I headed over to Riverside to see the Great Picture Exhibit at the UC Riverside art gallery with 8 of my SJSU friends.

It was mildly disappointing. The process of how they took the picture was pretty amazing, but the product itself (a negative captured on a huge canvas covered in some photographic emulsion that looked like gray paint) was not what we expected. We could barely make out a few palm trees and an air traffic control tower in the roughly-textured emulsion. Oh, well. In the end, I’m glad I got to see it in person.

After that, we had lunch at Simple Simon’s and walked around the Mission Inn. I was mesmerized by the macaws, Napoleon and Joseph, who were eating nuts and cherries for lunch outside the lobby. So mesmerized that I forgot to take a picture. Please use your imagination.

Last Monday, I made summer vegetable tian using a fantastic recipe from Budget Bytes. The only change I’d make is zapping the potatoes in the microwave for a little bit or parboiling them – they take way longer to cook through than tomatoes, squash, and zucchini. I should have gone with my instincts on that one.

Beautiful! If you ignore the side where I stuffed extra vegetables.

Vegan cheese! Vegan cheese! Vegan cheese! (Veggie Shreds, mozzarella flavor)

My dad, who is not very adventurous as far as hippie food goes, loved the vegan cheese. Ha! Good. Because I’m making something with tempeh tonight if I can get my hands on some.

Leave a Reply

