Friday Reads: Advice to Little Girls by Mark Twain

“You ought never to take your little brother’s ‘chewing-gum’ away from him by main force, it is better to rope him in with the promise of the first two dollars and a half you find floating down the river on a grindstone. In the artless simplicity natural to this time of life, he will regard it as a perfectly fair transaction. In all ages of the world this eminently plausible fiction has lured the obtuse infant to financial ruin and disaster.”

– Excerpt from Mark Twain’s Advice to Little Girls 

Books I finished this week (condensed version):

This week I read Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury and The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. I never had to read Fahrenheit 451 in high school, but I thought I should, so I did, and it was life changing. I gave them both 5 stars on Goodreads, and I am very picky about that sort of thing. I also finished Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. It was my least favorite so far because the pace was so slow. But I loved the inclusion of merfolk!

Memorable articles and links from this week:

Remember the guy who had Slaughterhouse-Five banned from a Missouri high school? The Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library did something about that. – Reuters

The Ladies of the 17th Century Were Way More Hardcore Than You – The Hairpin

How Language Affects Color Perception – Boing Boing

Neko Case + My Morning Jacket + Islands in the Stream – Cover Me

Leave a Reply

