3. My Antonia by Willa Cather

I wish there was more of Antonia in this book, but I had to keep reminding myself that this was supposed to be written from the narrator’s (Jim Burden) memory. So it kind of made up for Antonia’s character being somewhat flat.  I did really enjoy Jim and Antonia’s friendship. Jim is a stand up guy! My favorite character was Lena Lingard, the town hussy who grew up to be a totally awesome and successful dressmaker but still lived by her own rules. Sorry, Antonia.

My favorite part of the book was the story of why Peter and Pavel, two minor characters, came to the United States. I won’t give it away, but it was pretty horrifying to read even compared to the other dark moments in the book. It was captivating.

Finally, I still can’t say ANtonia. I believe it was Jim who equated it to saying “Anthony,” but the extra syllable at the end of Antonia trips me up every time.

Leave a Reply

