Washington, DC

Last weekend I packed a little suitcase and hopped a plane to Washington DC to visit my friend Julia. Julia and I met freshman year of college at UCSD and instantly bonded over a mutual respect and love for old school punk. She was a world literature major in college and decided to go to law school at American University’s Washington College of Law. I was a communication studies major with an informal emphasis in rhetoric and decided to go to library school. Go figure. But here we are!

Before one of our early morning shows on KSDT

I arrived on Thursday evening. After quickly making my way via Metro into the city, I met Julia at a Caribou Coffee and we walked a few blocks to a dive bar located in the basement of an office building to meet her WCL friends. On the way home I developed a bad case of the hiccups. The good thing was that holding my breath in attempts to get rid of them allowed me to block out the smell of crow. Yes, crow. You see, a randomly located undeveloped lot with thousands of tall trees is unheard of in Orange County (protected parks don’t count). These make good sleeping places for crows. Crows smell like rotting flesh and bird poop. Once I was safely esconced in Julia’s apartment, the building of which is located next to the randomly located undeveloped lot with thousands of trees and stinky sleeping crows, I made my little bed out of couch cushions, washed up, and fell into a deep sleep.

Note: this is a picture-heavy post. Click through to see more!

I woke up at 9:45 the next morning to coffee and scrambled eggs that Julia had made. Then we braved the cold and went on our way to her school, several Metro stops away. We sat in the law library and did some work. Nothing exciting, but I was glad to have some time to be productive. Late in the afternoon, we took a bus to Dupont Circle and walked for a looong time until we reached Church Key, a beer bar. I had a Pepe Nero and french fries for dinner. Once it got too crowded to bear, we boarded the Circular to the Adams Morgan Metro station and headed up to Friendship Heights. We walked almost a mile on icy sidewalks to get to a WCL friend’s apartment to eat fondue and cheesecake. We left at 11PM to go home. I probably burned off all of the calories I consumed that night by walking and shivering.

Saturday was a designated sight-seeing day. We woke up early and headed into the city to see the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, and the White House.

Sneaking through the tunnels underneath LoC

Leigh standing in front of the Library of Congress

In front of the Thomas Jefferson Building of LoC

Facing freezing winds

Of course we saw the Washington Monument

Dinosaur exhibit at the Smithsonian

We ended the day by getting Chipotle and watching/making fun of Prince of Persia.

Sunday was my last day in Washington, DC. We decided to go see the United States Botanic Garden and get lunch in the city at this quiet British pub-like place called Elephant & Castle.

Crooked United States Botanic Garden

Yummy post-lunch beers at Elephant & Castle

My souvenir: a coffee mug from Library of Congress

Leave a Reply

