knowledge

I’m writing my statement for Competency G:

Understand the system of standards and methods used to control and create information structures and apply basic principles involved in the organization and representation of knowledge.

I’m not so sure I agree with their usage of “knowledge.” I think it’s up to us as librarians/library students/information professionals/whatever to organize information or data. IMHO, knowledge isn’t born until someone takes that information or data and breathes meaning into it, applies or connects it to their life experiences in some way.

 

Don’t mind me. Just wanted to get that out there. Can’t wait until I’m done with this thing.

Leave a Reply

