ALA Midwinter 2011

This past weekend I went to my first professional conference: the midwinter meeting of the American Library Association at the San Diego Convention Center. I was freaked out by it, but I went. And it was FUN. And I learned a lot to boot! I ended up going to 3 sessions and the SJSU SLIS reception. I scored some free books in the exhibitors hall. I met lots of friendly people. I scurried around like a hamster and didn’t get 2 minutes to rest. Next time I will be sure to wear clothes with more pockets and bring more snacks.

So if you’re a library student who’s iffy about attending an ALA conference and you can afford it, GO. If you go in with a positive attitude and open mind, you’ll do great.

Leave a Reply

