Another week down

Every fall I get hit hard with the urge to nest and be cozy. The unexpected rain on Wednesday really messed with my motivation to do schoolwork. I have not been keeping up with my time management schedule this week, which means I haven’t had time to write a post. Instead, I wavered between getting distracted by the almighty Internet and scrambling to finish my work, until today when I turned on LeechBlock (I set it to block access to timesuck sites between 9AM and 7PM every day) and got down to business.

Week 2 of my internship has passed and it’s going well so far. I’m learning so much more than I ever thought I would, and getting feedback from my supervisor about my records has been incredibly helpful. Today I learned how to catalog children’s books. My favorite was a book called The Raucous Royals, which explained the screwed-up lives of royals of the past, including how many chops it took to behead Mary Queen of Scots and the oozing, infected leg of the obese Henry VIII. A close second was Michael Phelan’s The Storm in the Barn, a juvenile graphic novel about a young boy living in Kansas in the Dust Bowl who finds something special inside a neighboring barn.

Time for links:

I’ve never read a Nancy Drew book. I’ll have to settle for these instead. [Link is kind of NSFW. And don’t worry, I’ll put “read a Nancy Drew book” on my list of things to do before I turn 30.]

Want to make.

Old People Insulting Young People is one of my new favorite blogs.

Doggies!

Are you opening your books incorrectly?

As a California girl, I absolutely love Clare’s outfit.

Are you a children’s librarian running out of ideas for programming? Solution:

Leave a Reply

