Just an update

The personal: Lately, I’ve been feeling a little bored. Due to an unfortunate financial situation, my internship at a botanic garden library is kind of up in the air, and I haven’t been there in what feels like ages, but has only been a little over a week. I was also volunteering as an elementary school tutor, and their school year ended a couple weeks ago. I went from being satisfied with my workload to bored, grumpy, and jealous of people with full time jobs. When I’m not busy with summer school, I’m updating my resume and keeping up with my reading on the trains to and from Pasadena. I hope to have a new suggestion by the 25th.

The bibliographical:

  • I’ve started a bunch of books lately. My two priorities are Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, and Marriage by Alice Munro and This Book Is Overdue! How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All by Marilyn Johnson.
  • Cecily von Ziegesar, author of the Gossip Girl series, has written a new novel called Cum Laude. It’s loosely based on her own college experience, but she insists it is not autobiographical. There is also some confusion as to who the intended audience is. She says, “…I wanted to write a book that was really for my generation, too. I’m hoping that 39-year-olds will read the book. In a way, it’s for them as much as its for 22-year-olds […] I didn’t think about it as a so-called adult novel at all, I just wrote the novel that I wanted to write. It just happens that it’s being put in the adult section in the bookstore. The ironic thing is that it’s still about teenagers, they’re freshmen in college!”

The extraneous:

[remember?]

via PostSecret

via PostSecret

Leave a Reply

