Sunday Metadata [updated]

  • Last night, a classmate told me about Goodreads. It’s a way for you to keep track of and rate your books, and find other people with similar tastes. I signed up to keep track of the books I have read and want to read this year (I’m hoping to make it to 52 books).
  • Today is the last day for MotherReader’s 5th Annual 48 Hour Book Challenge. It primarily focuses on YA and children’s book bloggers. Check out the Finish Line post for a list of participants – you can read their reviews and see the progress they made over the weekend.
  • I read the LA Times Magazine for the first time yesterday, never having given it a fair chance (it seemed a little too LA for me, if you know what I mean. If you don’t know what I mean, I mean it looks ridiculous). I was actually quite surprised, in a good way, with their recurring books piece, Lonely Hearts Book Club. The authors, Karen Mack and Jennifer Kaufman, offer book suggestions to readers who write in with a literary predicament. For instance, this week’s issue featured short stories for a woman who needed to read in order to distract her from calling up her ex boyfriend. Today, I noticed someone placed a hold in our library for Jay McInerney’s How It Ended – one of the collections of short stories that Mack and Kaufman suggested in this issue. I’m going to ignore the possibility that it was a coincidence. I love it when I see little connections like that.
Leave a Reply

